Withdrawal of services and reassigned workers: we need to be vigilant

Withdrawal of services and reassigned workers: we need to be vigilant

APTS members began to experience severe disruption of their professional practice in April 2020 when services were withdrawn and employees reassigned throughout the health and social services system. By the time the second wave of the pandemic was declared on September 21, the APTS knew it needed a formal strategy to lessen the impact of a second round of service interruptions and staff reassignments.

Last summer, in the lull between the two waves, we surveyed our members to get a better sense of the consequences of withdrawal of services. Major irritants identified by respondents included work overload, managers not listening to concerns about professional issues, lack of follow-up on cases when services were withdrawn, delayed treatments, and loss of intervention windows. But the issue that drew the most criticism was the lack of consideration for the skills and qualifications of employees who were reassigned. Forced reassignments, imposed without taking into account the professional expertise of the people involved, led to unprecedented suffering in relation to ethical and professional conduct standards.

In addition to professional concerns, members grappled with health and safety issues such as a lack of suitable protective equipment, frequent changes to recommendations, insufficient communications on these changes and personnel moving between institutions or between hot and cold zones. These failings had a major impact on workers’ mental health. It also led to them having higher COVID-19 infection rates than the general population. In fact, a study conducted by the INSPQ (QuĂ©bec’s public health institute) found that healthcare workers were 10 times more likely to contract the virus. Between March 1 and June 14, 2020, 13,581 workers were infected, which is one quarter of the cases recorded in the province during that period.1

Addressing COVID-19 is demanding, but a disproportionate amount of energy has gone into the pandemic response compared with maintaining health and social services.


To make matters worse, some managers have brazenly chosen to carry out reassignments that were not in any way justified by the pandemic. While employers are undoubtedly required to comply with ministerial orders issued in response to the health emergency under the Public Health Act, these are situations that must be denounced.

In preparation for the second wave, the APTS hosted a webinar to present the results of its analysis along with a series of recommendations. The playback is available online (in French).

Defending professional concerns

Institutions were asked to develop an action plan for addressing the second wave and to submit it to the ministry of health and social services (MSSS) by September 30. Since ministerial orders indicate that unions must be consulted before measures are implemented or contingency plans are updated, the APTS set up a communication mechanism with local teams to make sure these consultations are actually taking place.

In addition, since it quickly became apparent that some management teams were unable to provide up-to-date information on withdrawal of services and staff reassignments, the APTS decided that it would conduct its own analysis of the situation. It is therefore very important to let your union know if you have been taken off your regular duties. Your local team will verify the measures taken by your employer, and this will help us understand the extent of withdrawal of services and staff reassignments across the province. We need to keep track of this information in order to analyze which services are being withdrawn and make sure we can influence decisions on the matter.

At the end of October, for instance, we found out that psychological support services had been withdrawn at the CISSS de ChaudiÚre-Appalaches, even though mental health needs were skyrocketing. The local team intervened, the media drew attention to the situation, and Québec Solidaire and the Liberal Party then condemned the move. This prompted the government to quickly demand that regular activities resume.2

We need to be vigilant during these challenging times, and our strategy is now clear. Keeping track of service interruptions by maintaining open lines of communication is the best way we can increase awareness of and recognition for the vital services provided by Class 4 personnel.

 

1. https://www.inspq.qc.ca/sites/default/files/publications/3061_enquete_epidemiologique_travailleurs_sante_covid_19.pdf

2. https://www.ledevoir.com/societe/sante/588074/coronavirus-psychologues-du-reseau-public-reaffectes and www.ledevoir.com/societe/sante/588157/le-gouvernement-legault-met-fin-a-la-reaffectation-des-psychologues-du-reseau-public

By Étienne GuĂ©rette | With Esther Gagnon  |  Decembre 17, 2020

Délestage et réaffectation : la vigilance s’impose

Délestage et réaffectation : la vigilance s’impose

La pratique professionnelle des membres de l’APTS a été bouleversée par le délestage et la réaffectation opérés dans le réseau dès avril. Avec la 2vague de la pandémie, déclarée le 21 septembre dernier, l’APTS a jugé nécessaire de mettre en place une stratégie pour réduire les impacts d’une 2 phase de délestage et de réaffectation.

Nous avons mené une enquête interne dans le creux entre les deux vagues, au cours de l’été 2020, afin de recenser les impacts des opérations de délestage. Les personnes sondées ont révélé que le manque d’écoute des gestionnaires face aux enjeux professionnels, l’absence de suivi des dossiers lors du délestage, le retard dans les traitements, la perte de fenêtre d’intervention et la surcharge de travail ont été des irritants majeurs. Toutefois, c’est le manque de considération de la compétence des membres déplacé·e·s qui a été le plus vivement dénoncé. Cette mobilisation forcée sans égard à l’expertise professionnelle a été la source de souffrances éthiques et déontologiques inédites.

Des enjeux de santé et sécurité se sont ajoutés aux préoccupations professionnelles : le manque d’équipement de protection approprié, les changements fréquents dans les recommandations, le manque de communication relative à ces recommandations ainsi que les mouvements de personnel entre les établissements et entre les zones froides et chaudes. Ces failles ont contribué à une augmentation du nombre de travailleur·euse·s infecté·e·s à la COVID-19 et ont eu un impact psychologique important. Une étude de l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ) révèle que le personnel de la santé avait 10 fois plus de chances de contracter le virus. Entre le 1er mars et le 14 juin 2020, 13 581 salarié·e·s ont été contaminé·e·s, ce qui représente le quart des infections ayant été répertoriées au cours de cette période au Québec1.

Malgré les besoins à combler en raison de la COVID-19, un net déséquilibre s’est creusé entre la mobilisation relative à la pandémie et le maintien des services du réseau.


Sans compter que certains gestionnaires ont sans vergogne réaffecté du personnel même si l’urgence sanitaire ne le justifiait aucunement. Alors que les employeurs doivent se conformer aux arrêtés ministériels déposés dans le cadre de la déclaration de l’urgence sanitaire prévue à la Loi sur la santé publique, nous devons dénoncer de vive voix ces situations!

En préparation de la 2vague, l’APTS a présenté les résultats de son analyse ainsi qu’une série de recommandations dans le cadre d’un webinaire dont la captation est disponible en ligne.

Défense des enjeux professionnels

Les établissements avaient jusqu’au 30 septembre pour présenter au MSSS un plan d’action en prévision de la 2vague. Les arrêtés ministériels prévoient que les syndicats doivent être consultés avant la mise en place des mesures ainsi que lors de la modification des plans de contingence. Ainsi, l’APTS a instauré une vigie auprès des équipes locales afin de s’assurer que les consultations soient respectées.

Comme il s’est rapidement avéré que plusieurs directions étaient incapables de fournir les données à jour en matière de délestage et de réaffectation, l’APTS a pris la décision de faire sa propre analyse de la situation. Il est donc important de communiquer avec votre syndicat si vous êtes délesté·e de vos activités normales. Ainsi, l’équipe locale pourra valider avec l’employeur les mesures en place afin de s’assurer d’une vue d’ensemble sur les opérations de délestage et de réaffectation au niveau national. Cette vigie est vitale pour faire l’analyse des services délestés et pour maintenir notre capacité d’influencer les décisions.

Par exemple, à la fin octobre, alors que les besoins en matière de santé psychologique étaient en pleine explosion, nous avons appris le délestage d’activités en santé mentale au CISSS de Chaudière-Appalaches. L’équipe locale a pu intervenir, les médias ont attiré l’attention sur la situation, Québec Solidaire et le Parti Libéral ont par la suite dénoncé la manœuvre, de sorte que le gouvernement a rapidement exigé le retour à des activités normales2.

La vigilance est de rigueur durant la période difficile que nous traversons. Répertorier les opérations de délestage en maintenant une communication sans faille est notre meilleure stratégie pour faire valoir l’apport essentiel du personnel de la catégorie 4 dans les services offerts à la population.

 

1. https://www.inspq.qc.ca/sites/default/files/publications/3061_enquete_epidemiologique_travailleurs_sante_covid_19.pdf

2. https://www.ledevoir.com/societe/sante/588074/coronavirus-psychologues-du-reseau-public-reaffectes et www.ledevoir.com/societe/sante/588157/le-gouvernement-legault-met-fin-a-la-reaffectation-des-psychologues-du-reseau-public

Rédaction Étienne Guérette | Collaboration Esther Gagnon  |  17 décembre 2020