Editorial

Investing in women’s work

Investing in women’s work

I can’t predict the outcome of these contract talks to renew our members’ collective agreement, but I can tell you right now that the government has underestimated a key factor in the equation. It doesn’t fully appreciate the need to invest in attracting and retaining qualified personnel in its solutions to the blatant problems plaguing the health and social services sector. This is a serious miscalculation.

To keep its edge in the popularity polls and boost its image in its handling of the social aspects of the health crisis, the CAQ government has announced a slew of investments in health and social services over the past few months.

In November 2020, the government allocated $100 million to improve access to mental health services, even if it meant relying on psychologists in private practice. In December, $10 million was added to this investment to improve services for young people experiencing first-episode psychosis. Six months later, we learned that the huge waiting lists for these services had been reduced by less than 3%. Why did these investments yield such poor results? For one thing, psychologists in the private sector failed to answer the call.

After $48 million was invested in rolling out the Agir tôt program in July 2019, targeting children with developmental delays or learning disabilities, the very personnel required for this crucial prevention initiative – psychosocial personnel in CLSCs – were forced to drop their regular duties and go wherever they were reassigned, due to the pandemic.

The day after the Special Commission on the Rights of the Child and Youth Protection tabled its report, the deputy minister stated his commitment to “ensure a diligent and rigorous response to its recommendations.” The response that followed a few weeks later, however, was a directive sent to the institutions, recommending that they refrain from posting any new positions, to preclude workers in youth centres from applying for jobs elsewhere.

In late May, deputy minister Lionel Carmant injected $21 million into behavioural rehabilitation services, on top of the $30 million already allocated to increase residential care availability for people living with a physical or intellectual disability or autism spectrum disorder.

What’s wrong with this picture?

These laudable aspirations to improve services for those in urgent need of specialized care all come up against the same obstacle: insufficient resources to increase access to services and reduce wait times.
.

And even if millions of dollars were poured into creating new positions, those jobs would still need duly qualified personnel to fill them. A proliferation of job vacancies has never solved anything.

In refusing to improve working conditions for employees in the public sector, the government is shooting itself in the foot. New recruits won’t exactly be rushing into careers in fields where they face daily stress and constraints, and in some sectors, grueling conditions… only to be paid less than what they would earn elsewhere for equivalent work.

The era when women’s work was seen as a vocation and men were assumed to be the breadwinners is long gone. In 2021, who wants to be paid a woman’s wage?

If the government really cares about the vulnerable populations it has promised to serve, and is serious about actually meeting its objectives and pushing forward with these services, it needs to have the right tools. In health and social services, the need is above all for committed, qualified human resources.

To ensure that public investments pay off in the future, the government should be investing in you.

By Robert Comeau | June 15, 2021

Leave a Comment





Most Read

Éditorial

Investir au féminin

Investir au féminin

Sans savoir quelle sera l’issue de la négociation pour le renouvellement de la convention collective des membres de l’APTS, je peux d’emblée affirmer que le gouvernement fait une erreur de calcul. Il ne prend pas la pleine mesure d’un élément déterminant de l’équation dans ses solutions pour résoudre les problèmes criants du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux: la nécessité de miser sur l’attraction et la rétention de personnel qualifié.

Soucieux de maintenir sa popularité et de se démarquer par sa gestion de la crise sociosanitaire, le gouvernement caquiste a multiplié les annonces d’investissement en santé et services sociaux au cours des derniers mois. Quelques exemples…

En novembre 2020 il octroie 100 M $ pour l’accès aux services en santé mentale, quitte à recourir aux psychologues en pratique privée. Un financement qu’il bonifie de 10 M $ en décembre pour les services destinés aux jeunes aux prises avec un premier épisode psychotique. Six mois plus tard on apprend que l’interminable liste d’attente aurait été réduite de moins de 3 %, notamment parce que les psychologues du privé ne répondent pas à l’appel.

Après avoir investi 48 M $ en juillet 2019 pour le déploiement du programme Agir tôt, ciblant les enfants qui présentent un retard de développement ou un trouble d’apprentissage, le personnel psychosocial des CLSC a été délesté durant la pandémie, celui-là même qui devait réaliser cet important travail de prévention.

Au lendemain du dépôt du rapport de la Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et la protection de la jeunesse, le ministre délégué s’est engagé à « répondre avec diligence et rigueur aux recommandations ». Notez qu’en guise de réponse une directive circulait quelques semaines plus tard dans les établissements, recommandant de ne pas afficher de nouveaux postes de manière à empêcher les intervenant·e·s des centres jeunesse de postuler ailleurs.

À la fin mai, le ministre délégué Lionel Carmant a injecté 21 M $ dans l’offre de services en réadaptation comportementale, qui se sont ajoutés aux 30 M $ déjà octroyés pour accroître les places en hébergement pour les personnes ayant une déficience physique (DP), une déficience intellectuelle (DI) ou un trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA).

Cherchez l’erreur.

Ces belles ambitions d’amélioration des services au bénéfice de segments de la population en grand besoin de soutien spécialisé se heurtent toutes à un obstacle commun : le manque de ressources pour élargir l’accès et réduire l’attente.


Les millions auront beau pleuvoir pour favoriser la création de nouveaux postes, encore faut-il qu’il y ait des gens dûment formés pour les occuper. La multiplication des postes vacants n’a jamais rien réglé.

En refusant de bonifier les conditions de travail des salarié·e·s du réseau public, le gouvernement « se tire dans le pied ». La relève ne se bousculera pas pour faire carrière dans des milieux où le quotidien peut s’avérer stressant, contraignant, voire éprouvant selon les secteurs, tout en étant payée moins cher qu’ailleurs pour des emplois équivalents. Il est bien révolu le temps des vocations féminines ou des maris pourvoyeurs. Qui a envie d’être payé·e au féminin en 2021?

Si le gouvernement a vraiment à cœur les groupes vulnérables auxquels il fait des promesses, s’il veut vraiment atteindre ses objectifs, s’il veut faire progresser ses chantiers, il doit s’assurer d’avoir les outils nécessaires. Et en matière de santé et de services sociaux, c’est de ressources humaines qualifiées et engagées dont il a besoin avant toute chose. Pour qu’ils rapportent dans l’avenir, c’est vers vous que les investissements devraient être dirigés.

Rédaction Robert Comeau | 4 juin 2021

Laissez un commentaire





Les plus populaires

Sorry. No data so far.