Editorial

Gearing up for a hectic fall

Gearing up for a hectic fall

The APTS is set for a busy fall. With the fourth wave, professionals and technicians will once again come under excessive pressure, and our health and social services system will be forced to do a major juggling act just to maintain non-COVID-related care and services. As well, our union will be holding special general assemblies to present you with the government’s global offer that we received at the beginning of the summer.

But these aren’t the only events on the horizon that will mark our work and our union life. On September 20, the results of the federal election will be announced. The issue of federal health transfers is a key concern for the APTS, as federal funding could ease some of the pressure that the health and social services system is placing on Quebec’s public finances. And most of the solutions to reduce the impact of climate change, another issue that’s dear to us, depend on Ottawa.

On the provincial front, we’ll be heading into a pre-election year. The government is likely to announce initiatives in various regions across Quebec, including some involving the health and social services system. Whether announcing new programs or bigger hospitals, François Legault will be doing everything he can to show Quebecers that he’s taking steps to address the range of problems they’re facing.

Youth protection will be another major theme this fall. Minister Carmant is expected to introduce a bill to amend the Youth Protection Act, as promised following the publication of the final report from the Special Commission on the Rights of the Child and Youth Protection, chaired by Régine Laurent. The tabling of the bill will also provide an opportunity for the new director of youth protection, Catherine Lemay, to review the standards of practice in youth centres.

The whole question of home support and housing for seniors and other vulnerable people will be front-page news when the government releases its action plan based on its policy on housing and long-term care and services (Politique d’hébergement et de soins et services de longue durée), which was issued last spring by Minister Marguerite Blais. This is a key area of work for the APTS: we’ll be creating a consultation committee on the continuum of care and services for seniors, to help us follow up on this new action plan and related issues. In the same vein, we’ll be paying close attention to the upcoming hearings on the province’s management of the pandemic in CHSLDs, which are part of coroner Géhane Kamel’s public inquiry into the tragedies that struck these long-term care facilities in the spring of 2020.

Waiting lists have exploded over the past few months, and not just in youth centres. From mental health care to medical imaging and radiation oncology services, the pandemic and the ensuing withdrawal of personnel from regular services have significantly increased already lengthy wait times. To make matters worse, labour shortages and difficulties in attracting and retaining personnel in the health and social services system are in no way helping to reduce your work overload.

At the time this article was written, the Legault government didn’t have a comprehensive strategy to address these issues, and was relying instead on ad hoc measures as the problems escalated. The government can’t manage the health and social services system by decree, using the public health emergency to flout its obligations. All parties concerned need to work together to make optimal use of their combined expertise. Rather than turning to the private sector, the government needs to consult the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux and senior managers in health and social services facilities, along with union representatives, community groups and professional orders and associations.

These organizations have crucial expertise that can’t be ignored, and we all share the same goal of providing Quebecers with quality services.

by robert comeau | september 8, 2021

Leave a Comment





Most Read

Éditorial

Un automne chargé

Un automne chargé

C’est un automne chargé qui se dessine à l’horizon pour l’APTS. Outre la 4e vague, qui maintiendra une pression indue sur le personnel professionnel et technique et qui obligera encore une fois notre réseau de la santé et des services sociaux (RSSS) à faire des pieds et des mains pour maintenir l’offre de soins et de services dans ses missions qui ne sont pas concernées par la pandémie, nous serons de notre côté en pleine tournée d’assemblées générales spéciales afin de vous présenter l’offre globale que le gouvernement nous a soumise au début de l’été.

Mais d’autres événements viendront ponctuer notre vie syndicale et professionnelle. Tout d’abord, les élections fédérales qui ont été déclenchées le 15 août dernier et dont nous verrons la conclusion le 20 septembre. Pour l’APTS, la question des transferts fédéraux en santé est cruciale afin de faire baisser la pression qu’exerce le RSSS sur les finances publiques du Québec. Et, autre sujet cher à l’organisation, une grande partie des solutions pour amoindrir les impacts des changements climatiques se retrouvent entre les mains d’Ottawa.

Sur la scène provinciale, nous entrerons aussi en année préélectorale. Il risque d’y avoir de nombreuses annonces du gouvernement dans les diverses régions, dont certaines concerneront le RSSS. Que ce soit le développement d’un nouveau programme ou bien l’agrandissement d’un centre hospitalier, François Legault ne manquera aucune occasion de démontrer aux Québécois·es qu’il agit pour régler les divers problèmes auxquels ils et elles sont confronté·e·s.

La protection de la jeunesse occupera aussi une place centrale avec le dépôt attendu du projet de loi qui modifiera la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse, un engagement que le ministre Carmant a pris à la suite de la publication du rapport de la Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et la protection de la jeunesse (CSDEPJ), présidée par Mme Régine Laurent. Ce sera aussi l’occasion pour la nouvelle directrice nationale de la protection de la jeunesse, Mme Catherine Lemay, de revoir les standards de pratique en centre jeunesse.

Toute la question du soutien à domicile (SAD) et de l’hébergement des personnes âgées et vulnérables sera au cœur de l’actualité avec la publication du plan d’action découlant de la Politique d’hébergement et de soins et services de longue durée, publié ce printemps par la ministre Marguerite Blais, et occupera une place importante dans les travaux de l’APTS. Pour, entre autres, faire le suivi de ce plan d’action, nous mettrons en place un comité consultatif sur le continuum de soins et de services aux personnes âgées. Dans la même veine, nous nous pencherons sur le volet national de gestion de la pandémie dans les CHSLD traité lors de l’enquête de la coroner Géhane Kamel sur les tragiques événements qui ont frappé ces établissements au printemps 2020.

Et il n’y a pas que dans les centres jeunesse que les listes d’attente ont explosé au cours des derniers mois. Que ce soit en santé mentale, dans le secteur de l’imagerie médicale ou celui de la radio-oncologie, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns, la pandémie et le délestage des activités qui en a résulté ont entraîné une augmentation des délais pour avoir accès à ces services. Ces délais, soulignons-le, étaient déjà très importants avant la pandémie. Qui plus est, la pénurie de main-d’œuvre dans le RSSS et les problèmes d’attraction et de rétention du personnel n’aident en rien à diminuer la surcharge de travail qui repose sur vos épaules.

Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, le gouvernement Legault ne semble pas avoir de stratégie globale et précise pour régler ce problème et opte plutôt pour des mesures ponctuelles afin d’éteindre les feux qui se propagent un peu partout. Il ne peut pas gérer le réseau à coup de décrets gouvernementaux, en utilisant l’état d’urgence sanitaire pour faire fi de ses obligations. Il faut que l’ensemble des parties prenantes collaborent et profitent des expertises développées de part et d’autre. Au lieu de se tourner vers le secteur privé, le gouvernement doit discuter d’une part avec le ministère de la santé et des services sociaux et les dirigeant·e·s des établissements et, d’autre part, avec les personnes représentantes syndicales, les groupes communautaires, les ordres et les associations professionnel·le·s.

Ces organisations ont une expertise qu’il ne faut pas mettre de côté car nous avons tou·te·s le même objectif d’offrir des services de qualité à la population québécoise.

Rédaction Robert Comeau | 8 septembre 2021

Laissez un commentaire





Les plus populaires

Sorry. No data so far.