Editorial

What we deserve… no more, no less

What we deserve… no more, no less

As partners in the upcoming public-sector negotiations, the APTS and the FIQ were united in their response to the unwelcome statements made by Premier François Legault.

Although our demands haven’t even been filed, the premier is already asserting that unions want to monopolize the budget surpluses for their own interests, to the detriment of Quebecers – a surprising assertion when we know that he wants to use the surpluses to follow up on electoral promises made by his party, which was elected with 37% of the votes.

In an open letter that appeared in the newspapers on or around September 21, FIQ president Nancy Bédard and I pointed out that despite what Mr. Legault is insinuating, our unions don’t represent their own interests in these negotiations, they represent the 131,000 professionals and technicians who are valiantly keeping the health and social services system going to ensure decent care and services for their fellow citizens. Such care and services are appreciated by the population, which recognizes the value and merits of their work.

Moreover, the fact that the population still has confidence in our healthcare system is largely due to this skilled and dedicated personnel. Our members have borne the brunt of austerity measures that successive governments have shoved down their throats in the past number of years, and they’ve paid a heavy price. Austerity measures were imposed at their expense: budget cuts, work overload, compulsory overtime, staff shortages, etc. Doesn’t Mr. Legault know that that standard of living of personnel in health and social services has been stagnating, that their working conditions are declining and the number of absences for health reasons is rising?

It is in this challenging context that we chose the theme for these contract talks: “We’re done working ourselves sick.”

A message conveyed by 131,000 voices

We held an initial meeting on September 10 at the Palais de congrès de Montréal, with the APTS and FIQ delegations converging to officially launch the alliance forged by our two unions for the upcoming negotiations.

What we are demanding is due recognition of our members’ essential role in health care and social services. This battle to obtain better pay and working conditions is also aimed at giving our members the means to provide decent, secure and accessible care to the population.

This same premier who is so fiercely protecting his surpluses acknowledged in his throne speech a year ago that employees in health and social services had been particularly hard hit and that his government intended to “concretely improve the situation.” His recent declarations carry a very different message. They do not place the two sides in a constructive dynamic for collective bargaining. This is why it’s important for us to set the record straight. Our unions don’t intend to make off with the public coffers! They are, however, calling for negotiations to be conducted properly, according to the prescribed rules and standard practices. Above all, they are calling for the government to negotiate in good faith.

We invite the premier to show greater restraint in his public statements and not short-circuit negotiations… out of respect for Quebecers who work in health and social services and want to improve their lot, but also to help improve our system of health care and social services.

To follow developments in our contract talks, go to negoapts.com

BY CAROLLE DUBÉ | June 21, 2019

Leave a Comment





Most Read

Skip to content

Édito

Rien de plus que ce que nous méritons

Rien de plus que ce que nous méritons

L’APTS et la FIQ, partenaires en vue des prochaines négociations du secteur public, ont réagi d’une même voix à des propos malvenus tenus récemment par le premier ministre François Legault.

Alors que nos demandes syndicales ne sont même pas encore déposées, le premier ministre prêtait aux syndicats l’intention de vouloir s’emparer des surplus dans leur propre intérêt, au détriment de l’ensemble des Québécois·es. Surprenante affirmation quand on sait qu’il entend, pour sa part, les utiliser pour réaliser les promesses électorales de son parti, élu avec 37 % des votes.

Dans une lettre ouverte parue dans les journaux autour du 21 septembre, la présidente de la FIQ, Nancy Bédard, et moi-même avons tenu à rappeler que, quoi qu’en dise M. Legault, nos organisations ne représentent pas leurs propres intérêts dans ces négociations, mais ceux de 131 000 personnes professionnelles et techniciennes qui portent à bout de bras le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux pour offrir des soins et des services de qualité à l’ensemble de leurs concitoyen·ne·s. Ces soins et services sont appréciés par la population, qui sait reconnaître la valeur et le mérite de leur travail.

D’ailleurs, si le réseau s’attire encore autant de confiance, c’est en grande partie à ce personnel compétent et dévoué qu’on le doit. Nos membres ont payé très cher les mesures d’austérité que les gouvernements successifs leur ont enfoncées dans la gorge ces dernières années. L’austérité s’est faite sur leur dos : compressions budgétaires, surcharge de travail, temps supplémentaire obligatoire, pénurie de personnel, etc. M. Legault n’est-il donc pas informé que le niveau de vie des travailleur·euse·s du réseau stagne, que leurs conditions de travail se détériorent et que les absences pour maladie se multiplient?

C’est d’ailleurs ce contexte éprouvant qui explique le choix du thème de ces négociations : «Travailler à se rendre malade, c’est terminé!».

Un message porté par 131 000 voix

Nous tenions le 10 septembre dernier au Palais de congrès de Montréal une première assemblée réunissant les délégations de l’APTS et de la FIQ pour lancer officiellement l’alliance de nos deux organisations en vue des négociations.

Ce que nous réclamons, c’est une juste reconnaissance du rôle essentiel que jouent nos membres dans le réseau. Et cette lutte que nous menons pour l’obtention de meilleures conditions salariales et de travail vise également à fournir à nos membres les moyens d’offrir des soins de qualité, sécuritaires et accessibles, à la population.

Ce même premier ministre qui protège aujourd’hui si farouchement ses surplus reconnaissait dans son discours du trône, il y a un an, que les employé·e·s du réseau avaient été durement éprouvé·e·s et que son gouvernement comptait «améliorer concrètement la situation». Ses récentes déclarations portent un tout autre message. Elles ne placent pas les parties dans une dynamique de négociation constructive. D’où l’importance de notre mise au point. Nos organisations syndicales n’entendent pas s’emparer du trésor public! Elles demandent cependant de négocier en bonne et due forme, comme le prévoient les règles et les pratiques d’usage. Elles demandent surtout que l’exercice se fasse sous le signe de la bonne foi.

Nous invitons donc le premier ministre à une plus grande retenue dans ses propos et à ne pas court-circuiter la négociation. Par respect pour les Québécois·es qui travaillent dans le réseau et qui veulent non seulement améliorer leur sort, mais aussi contribuer à un meilleur système de santé et de services sociaux.

 

Pour suivre la négo, rendez-vous sur negoapts.com

PAR CAROLLE DUBÉ | 21 juin 2019

Aucun commentaire

  1. sofia sur 1 octobre 2019 à 12 h 31 min

    tout à fait!

Laissez un commentaire





Scroll To Top